Rathmines Juniors win the O’Connell Cup

The Rathmines Junior team of Eoin Hunter, Felix Jordan, Sanjay Menon and Utkarash Gupta won the O’Connell Cup held in ALSAA on May 10th.  Over 120 players took part across the two sections. 26 teams in all. In the Rising Stars the Rathmines all girl team of Illona, Melina, Meghna and Anshika came joint third. The Rathmines Juniors and The Rathmines Comets put in great performances in the rising stars also. Well done to everyone.


O’Connell Cup and Philip Hogarty Rising Stars   Report

Sunday May 10th


There was a great turnout to the junior team event. Over 125 juniors took part from clubs and schools all over Leinster. The Rising Stars section had 20 teams competing. The overall winners were Tom O’Sullivans Malahide Club Teams taking both first and second place. In joint third place were the school team Pope John Paul  II,  Monkstown  Junior Club team and Rathmines Juniors all girl team.

Several teams entered for the first time and were in the running for the best newcomer award. This was won by the Team from Rathoath/Meath.


1 Malahide Militants,
2 Malahide Majestics,
3-5 Pope John Paul II,
Monkstown B,
Rathmines Starlets,
6-10 Skerries
Rathmines Juniors,
Team TOP,
Rathmines Comets,
11-13 NDNSP
Elm Mount,
Meath Juniors,
14-16 Skerries 2,
Enniscorthy Grandmasters,
Ralet Rooks,
17-19 Maynooth Educate Together,
Belgrove NDNSP,
Skerries Paul,
20-22 Elm Mount 2,
Ralet Bishops,

The O’Connell Cup was a Round Robin between teams from Rathmines, Monkstown, Malahide, Blanschardstown , St. Benildus and Skerries.1

Rathmines and Monkstown went into the final round on 4 points each. The Rathmines team  captained by Eoin Hunter with Felix Jordan, Sanjay Menon and Utkarash Gupta won out and were presented with the O’Connell Cup. Many thanks to Gerry O’Connell from St. Benildus who presented the prizes.


2 Monkstown A,
3 Malahide Marauders,
4 Team OP,
5 St Benildus,
6 Skerries,

Comments are closed.