Irish Junior Chess Championships

The Irish Junior Championships took place in the Carlton Hotel. Blanchardstown Chess Club treated us to a fantasic junior event. The Blanchardstown committee members and many volunteers worked very hard to put together a very successful tournament.

photos by

Gallery of Rathmines Players


Rathmines Juniors competed in many sections with very impressive results. In the under 16’s Mustakim Ul-Hague came 3rd. U14’s Henry Li came 2nd and Muhtarim Ul-Hague came 3rd  Fiachra Scallan scored 4 . In the U 12’s Ciara Scallan was the highest placed girl scoring 4.5, Sean Hunter, Stephen Higgins, Eoin Hunter, Alex Mulligan and Ciaran Walsh all scored 3.5.  In the U10’s Felix Jordan and Cillian Scallan scored 4points, James Prenderville  and Anjali Walsh scored 3.5 and Sanjay Menon and Richard Sheahan scored 3points . U8 Andrew He scored 4 , Liam Hunter 3.5, Sean Gannon 3 and Kate Gallagher 2.

The new 2015 Champions 

Under 19 Tom O’Gorman  , Dun Laoighaire

Under 16 Conor O’Donnell, Gonzaga

Under 14 Padraig Hughes, Curragh

Under 12 Danny Dwyer, Blanchardstown

Under 10 Admira Kecskemeti, LogicNI

Under 8 Arnold Kecskemeti, LogicNI

Highest placed girls were,

u19 Anastasija Manojlovic, St. Benildus

u16 Diana Mirza, St. Michael’s

U14 Mercedes Plaza Reino, Enniscorthy

u12 Ciara Scallan, Rathmines

u10 Admira Kecskemeti, LogicNI

u8 Giulia Doherty, winner of the New Ireland Perpetual Trophy.


Well done to you all .


Comments are closed.