Fantastic Results at the Mick Germaine Cup

The club has a brilliant day at the Mick Germaine Cup. Three teams were entered from Rathmines Junior Club and competed against a very strong representation of clubs from throughout Leinster. 20 teams took part in all.

Ciara Scallan captained the Kings , Sean Hunter, Cillian Scallan, Alex Mulligan and Daniel Bibou, to an impressive 2nd place. The were pipped by Enniscorthy, who they drew with in round 4. Top scorer, Cillian Scallan scored 6 out of 6 .

The Rathmines Bishops and Rathmines Knights also performed very well, top scorer prizes were awarded to Felix and Sanjay. Almost 20 players from Rathmines took part on the three teams, some as subs. Congratulations to you all, every player put their all into their games and there was some very impressive matches played throughout the day.


Report by Pat Fitzsimons from the ICU website

This year’s Mick Germaine Cup competition took place on Saturday 11th October in the Ierne Sports and Social club, home of the Elm Mount Chess club. The competition is for teams of junior players rated under 900 or unrated and is open to both club and school teams.

This year’s event had a record entry of 20 teams involving 95 players some of whom were as young as five or 6 years old and were making their debuts in a competitive tournament.

The cup was won by the Enniscorthy Kings on an unbeaten score of 19/24 points over 6 rounds of matches from Rathmines Kings in the runners up spot on 16.5 points. 4 teams finished on 14 points with Blanchardstown finishing third and the Enniscorthy Knights securing 4th place on tie break from Shankill and St Catherines National School. The final standings are set out below. A number of school based teams competed for the first time in the event (Belgrove Boys, the North Dublin National School Project, and Our Ladies College, Greenhills). Another notable feature of this year’s competition was a welcome increase in the numbers of girls playing in the event.

Four players achieved a perfect score of 6/6 for their teams Mercedes Plaza Reino (Enniscorthy Kings), Cillian Scallan (Rathmines Kings), Vinajak Unitham (Rathoath), and Andrew Whyte (St Catherines National School).

Final standings:

Standings   Team               Total Points

1   Enniscorthy Kings               19
2   Rathmines kings                 16.5
3   Blanchardstows                  14
4   Enniscorthy Knights             14
5   Shankill                        14
6   St Catherines                   14
7   Rathmines knights               13.5
8   Rathmines Bishops               13
9   Skerries                        13
10  Ratoath                         13
11  Checkmates                      11.5
12  Navan                           11.5
13  Meath Girls                     11.5
14  Ballinasloe                     11.5
15  Our Lady's College Greenhills   11
16  NDNSP Kings                     11
17  Belgrove Knights                9.5
18  Belgrove Boys School            9
19  NDNSP Knights                   7.5
20  Elm Mount Knights               4

Comments are closed.